Mike's Oud Forums

Live Sound

mavrothis - 8-27-2004 at 09:49 AM

Hi guys,

I've been experimenting with various things for live sound, from the electric ud to using pick ups and mics.

My latest attempt with a nice condensor mic did not work very well, too much feedback, not enough power. But, I'm now looking at an internal pickup by K&K (Pure Classic w/ 4 transducers) in combination with an external preamp by Fishman. I'll have to have them installed in the ouds, but I feel it's the best option for me right now.

I'll let you know how they turn out, it should be taken care of within the next 2 weeks. My friend will install one into my Najarian, and maybe one into my Dimitris Nahat copy, we'll see.

Take care,

mav

K&K

Live Recording

Feynfou - 9-27-2004 at 01:56 AM

Hello Mav,

I'm replying to this message by a question...
I'm also interested in recording my playing. I'm new in this wounderfull world of OUD, but i do try to make some Takassim...
I tried windows recorder, but the record time doesn't exceed 69 seconds.

Are there any softwares that allow longer recordings?

Regards,
and love for the OUD.:airguitar:

Walidk - 9-27-2004 at 08:55 AM

I use a free software called Audacity to record on computer and convert to mp3.
It's not professional by any means but it does the job for me.

You would need a microphone attached to you computer just like Windows player.
It allows to record much more than 69 seconds..
Look it up on the internet. If you have problems, let me know.

Walid.

Hello Feynfou

sydney - 9-27-2004 at 01:50 PM

:wavey:

A good software to record your taqasim:

Try http://oudpage.tripod.com/

and look on the green list for Rec your oud. there are two programs for you to use Goldwave and n-Track

Good Luck

Emad from sydney

Elie Riachi - 9-27-2004 at 02:51 PM

Hi Mav,