Mike's Oud Forums

I need an oud that will stay in tune!

smast - 3-9-2011 at 01:55 AM

Hello,
First of all, apologies if this has been answered in some way or another - I did a search but didn't stumble across a specific answer.
I was travelling over the summer (UK summer!) and, as a guitarist, really wanted to pick up an Arabic oud. It was a bit of an impulse decision and although I'm a competent musician, I'm not an oud player. So, I ended up with an oud that's not too bad but it's really very much a beginner's oud (my budget was also not high). It's very difficult to tune, to the point that I don't know how easy/embarrassing it would be to tune in a live situation. I've taken it to a local luthier and she says it would not be worth my while having new tuning pegs fitted (cost-wise). I'm not too bad with tuning stringed instruments as I play the violin and I've played some sarod in the past. I've been using it with a sort of folk/fusion group (not at all 'authentic', though I would love to learn properly some day) and since we're going to be playing the material live, I really need an instrument that won't let me down.
From my searches on here, it seems as though Sukar ouds are a good bet for someone at my level. I've also seen Gawharet El Fan ouds. I know that it would be best to play the instrument first but I'm based in London, UK, and I'm not sure how easy it would be to find an Arabic oud or how long I would have to wait until something came up.
Would anyone be able to make recommendations of Ouds under $600, please? I'd love to spend more but I just don't have the funds!
I'd be very grateful for any help.
Thanks!

fernandraynaud - 3-9-2011 at 05:34 AM