Mike's Oud Forums

Fadel? Turunz? Nahat? Dimitris?....

Sam Dib - 10-26-2004 at 01:12 PM

Hi Mike and everyone!
I have been watching this forum for two years now, awesome information here Mike, very nice work!

I am a oud player living in Montreal, Canada. I have one of the first ouds that Yaroub Mohammad Fadel made. It's all made of maple, except the soundboard of course which is made of spruce and the sound it sounds, how can I say.. :) very very nice

I am currently studying with Mohammad Masmoudi which some of you might know, a piece called Revelation was on the Taksim MP3 page.

I am also very good friend with Ismail Fencioglu, did you all know that he builds awesome ouds too. He studied with master luthier Faruk Turunz http://www.oudmaster.com

I am looking to buy a new oud and wanted your opinion, I am seriously looking for a oud from one of those luthiers:
Bashir oud by Yaroub
http://www.iraqi-oud.com/index/yaroub/info.htm

or a traditionnal oud from:
Faruk Turunz
http://www.oudmaster.com

Mourice Shehata

Husain Sabsaby
http://www.oudsabsaby.com

Dimitris Rapakousios
http://www.dimitrisouds.com/

I am of course aware that all those ouds sound very different from each other, I am looking for a ver warm sounding oud, with good projection, very easy action, good bass response, a oud with a sound that has a lot of depth and soul, maybe a Nahat at 34000$ :) , no seriously, which one do you think guys would be the best choice?

Thanks a lot everyone, I really appreciate the help with this one!

mavrothis - 10-26-2004 at 01:21 PM

Hi,

First, I have to say it must be great to be in such great company up there. Please pass on to Mr. Fencioglu how much we enjoy his playing. He probably remembers Phaedon Sinis, my friend who plays kanun and visited him recently.