Mike's Oud Forums

cultural? disturbance

charlie oud - 1-14-2014 at 04:24 AM

Dear Oudists
I have struggled to keep my interest in playing the oud and have been wondering why?. Sometimes I feel a kind of interference, a strange feeling like some inner protest about the never ending state of affairs in those nations where the music and it's style comes from. It's not so much religious i.e. the bitterness between Christianity and Islam. It's more the behaviours, the bitter hatred of Westerners, all the mindless killing, the suffering. May be it's because I am a Western citizen? it's not like this in the UK or the USA. I just don't know what is going on in me. But somehow I feel this unhappiness, the fighting, the bombs, the dying children. I have been a musician for nearly 40 years and this is the first time my musical life has encountered this discomfort with an instrument and I am actually a little embarrassed to be posting these thoughts. My heart informs me that music must never be affected by such issues, that it is universal, crosses all cultural divides. So why should I be feeling this? Any thoughts?

RobMacKillop - 1-14-2014 at 04:41 AM

Thanks for being brave enough to share your thoughts. I'm new to this forum, so will let more experienced members answer first. But I know whereof you speak. I was studying oud in Morocco when 9/11 happened, which seemed to destroy all I was trying to achieve - learn, enthuse and share. I felt sick, and couldn't play for a long time.

charlie oud - 1-14-2014 at 05:12 AM

Cheers Rob, Thank you, likewise I appreciate your reply and how awful you must have felt at that time, it resonates in some ways with my own struggle.

Lysander - 1-14-2014 at 07:19 AM

Firstly, have you ever been to the Middle East? I have been to Turkey a couple of times [though not all of Turkey is in the ME, parts of it are] and I've visited the rural country areas as well as Istanbul and the larger cities.