Mike's Oud Forums

a Vertical Crack in the Bowl

SufianSaeed - 2-1-2015 at 11:30 PM

Hello Everyone,
I've been learning Oud roughly for about 2 months and this forum is like my daily hangout zone .
i was learning"Spanish Beginnings" Piece by Abadi Jawhar when suddenly today after my daily training time while am putting the oud down i noticed a vertical crack in the bowl of the oud "images attached", now i understand that the bowl ribs are glued together, i have no idea how would they just crack and why specifically this spot, am pretty sure am gentle enough with my oud, anyways i live in Tripoli, Libya and i think there's zero luthiers here and if there was i dont think they will be experienced enough to handle this, i want to know from the experts on this forum if you could tell me how bad is the damage and if you've seen anything like this before ? any tips would be appreciated i've already placed the oud back in its case and i think its wise to just stop playing on it before it gets worst or the crack spreads to more ribs , its really saddening mostly that i think now to keep my progress i probably will have to get an another oud .

link to images :
Google Drive Album

abc123xyz - 2-2-2015 at 09:29 PM

Quote: Originally posted by SufianSaeed  
link to images :
Google Drive Album

Even after signing in to Google this morning I was told that I still
"need permission" from "the owner for access" to see your photos.

David

SufianSaeed - 2-3-2015 at 02:02 AM

Quote: Originally posted by abc123xyz  
Quote: Originally posted by SufianSaeed  
link to images :
Google Drive Album

Even after signing in to Google this morning I was told that I still
"need permission" from "the owner for access" to see your photos.

David

Terrible mistake on my side, just fixed it
another Link just in case .

BaniYazid - 2-3-2015 at 11:00 AM

Hi Sufian,

Welcome here