Mike's Oud Forums

Advice on buying and oud (Greece/Turkey)

Cumbusistas - 10-5-2017 at 08:53 PM

Hello all!

I've been playing cumbus for a couple of years now, and I recently saved up enough money to upgrade to an oud! I have about 1,000 euros and want to get the best quality oud I can get for the money. I live in Volos, Greece and was thinking about going up to Thessaloniki (it's only a few hours on the train) to buy one from Tassos Theodorakis. He makes incredible instruments, so I'm sure anything I get from him will be great. My oud teacher recommended that I go to Istanbul to buy one, as the prices for the same quality instruments are much lower (especially with the euro's relative strength to the lira now.) I'm a little skeptical about doing that because a) I speak no Turkish, b) I don't know any luthiers in Istanbul, and c) I trust Theodorakis, but I don't know much at all about the oud to feel comfortable buying one from a stranger; I've only played one once in my life. I was hoping to get some thoughts from people on the forum about whether I should go to Turkey or not. Are the prices that much lower? Can anyone recommend a luthier that will have something really great in my price range, or something better than I could find in Greece for the same money? Thanks!

Marcus - 10-5-2017 at 10:29 PM

Hi Cumbusistas,:wavey:
I dont know if you`ll get better ones in Greece in that price-range, but this one is the best oud I ever hear for this price.
Faruk Türünc is a very well known oudmaker, probably one of the worlds best!!
And, you dont need to travel to Turkey, you`ll get the oud shipped to Greece.
Check it out:FT reduced price model

Cheers and good,
Marcus

yavaran - 10-13-2017 at 04:53 AM

You may not be able to afford a standard custom model from Dimitris in Athens in that price range, but I suggest you also get in touch with him and see if he has anything available. Occasionally things come up with him in different price ranges.