Mike's Oud Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Is this a weird or correct method to tune?
mercm525i
Oud Junkie

Mood: mnee7

[*] posted on 8-24-2004 at 05:03 AM
Is this a weird or correct method to tune?

Hi, I had a quick question. I've had the oud for about 9 months now and I've been tuning D G A D G C I think?. I tune by doing the following. I tune the lowest string (thickest) to D and then make sure the next string up sounds like the previous string pressing the fourth finger(pinky) and do this throughout all the strings...is this right or am I way off. Since I read that strings are tuned a 4th apart, I used my pinky (4th finger, almost like 4th fret) and make sure the next string played (open, no fingers) sounds like the previous one playing with the 4th finger...i don't know notes, im self taught. Also I just bought some aquila strings which are c g d A F C, is this ok with the way i try to tune as mentioned above, which is D G A D G C I think? Can I tune differently to what the strings say. Can someone please help me with this method that i use to tune using 4th finger and all that stuff (is it correct, etc)?
billkilpatrick
Oud Junkie

Mood: what?

[*] posted on 8-24-2004 at 05:47 AM

if you play arabic oud, that sounds ok to me. G-A-D-G-C (bass to treble) is considered the basic, egyptian tuning. what you tune the 6th (bass) course to is entirely up to you.

turkish, i know nothing about.

you're obviously out there on your own. no teacher...no one to say "yes" or "no"... i can relate. i still have lapses in the most elementary aspects of oud playing in particular and music in general.

include mike et all in your prayers before going beddy-bye. without them, we'd be sunk.

- bill
mavrothis
Oud Junkie

Mood: big band envy

[*] posted on 8-24-2004 at 07:10 AM

Hi,