Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  2
Author: Subject: Rosettes - Tone Issues
Fernando of Sor
Oud Addict

Mood: Out of Tune

[*] posted on 10-25-2011 at 12:50 PM
Rosettes - Tone Issues

Hi, I'm new to playing Oud. I notice that many oud players remove the rosettes form their soundholes. Exactly what effect does this have tonally? I would guess there's an increase in volume, but how is the Bass/Treble balance effected ? Many Thanks - Mark
charlie oud
Oud Junkie

Mood: chords prefer frets

[*] posted on 10-26-2011 at 01:35 AM

Hi Fernando, welcome to the forum.
Your question is an ongoing fascinating one. Personally, I have found that rosed ouds tend to provide a slightly more compressed sound, a little more nasal which is a very classic tone. Unrosed sound to my ears is a little more open, more transparent if you get what I mean. I tend to hear slightly more volume with unrosed ouds and even greater volume with floaters (floating bridge) but this is not a factor in sound 'quality'. I've not heard much variation in bass & trebble when rosette is removed, its more that all registers of pitch are effected in the same way.
Moreover, it is largely a matter of opinion and not fact. The only fact on this subject is that a good quality oud sound is not dependant on a rosette or its absence.

Best Wishes, Charlie
jdowning
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 10-26-2011 at 04:57 AM

If you go to the topic 'Old Oud - New Project' (on page 5 of the Oud Projects forum) I report on a series of trials undertaken to try to measure the acoustic effect of soundhole diameter as well as the effect with or without a rosette (page 10 of the topic).
Due to the large number of variables in the construction of an oud - no two instruments can be identical acoustically even if they appear to be alike - these tests were carried out on a test instrument with modified sound hole to simulate different diameters etc.