Mike's Oud Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Is concave soundboard normal?
alexoud
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 4-24-2012 at 02:46 AM
Is concave soundboard normal?

I bought a used oud. I'm new to the world of ouds, and was told by the seller that some soundboard curvature is normal over time.

When I place a straight edge on the soundboard, so that it makes contact near the bridge, and at the place where the neck meets the body, I find that the middle of the soundboard is curved 5mm away from the straight edge.

Is this really typical? If not, how can I repair it?

Any advice would be appreciated.

IMG_2228_BW_S.jpg - 19kB
Greg
Administrator

Mood: Serene

[*] posted on 4-24-2012 at 02:51 AM

Hello Alex,

Welcome to the forums. Yes, it is normal for there to be a small distortion. 5mm would be around the maximum I would be comfortable with. But I play a Turkish sized oud and they tend to distort less than some Arabic sized ouds. An important measurement at this stage of proceedings is the height of the strings above the fingerboard, where the neck meets the body. What does that measure?

Regards,

Greg
alexoud
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 4-25-2012 at 02:35 AM

Hi Greg,

The height of the strings where the neck meets the body is 3.5mm for the high string and 3.0mm for the low string.

The other thing that seems a little bit odd to me is that because of the concavity of the soundboard the part of the fingerboard that rests on the soundboard is at a slightly different angle than the fingerboard of the neck.

Let me know if a picture would help to explain what I mean.

Thanks,
Alex
bulerias1981
Oud Junkie

Mood: John Vergara Luthier Lord of the Strings instrument making and repair

[*] posted on 4-25-2012 at 08:34 AM