Mike's Oud Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: New Guy: Oud Blueprints Non-Existent?
verhoevc
Oud Lover

[*] posted on 1-1-2014 at 01:25 AM
New Guy: Oud Blueprints Non-Existent?

Hey everybody. First and foremost I'd like to introduce myself. I'm new to the Oud world, but not new to stringed instrument construction. I was lucky enough to visit the Salmeen Our factory over my vacation in Kuwait and am pretty interested in the instrument. I hope to one day build one... provided I can ever get all these dang guitars done I have in progress!

Either way, I was wondering why there don't appear to be any real oud plans or blueprints available online? I did a search and the topic has come up a couple times on this forum, however, the answer is always to get the Hankey book. I'm sure the book is great, but for those that already have a lot of building experience a plan and some of the progress photos online would be plenty to go on by themselves IMO.

I'm fairly proficient in CAD, so if anyone has measured drawings, etc. I'd be more than happy to put together plans if someone would be willing to help with the know-how. I'm well aware there are a number of different types of ouds out there or various sizes, but I think having at least one "canonical" set of plans out there would likely be encouraging to new-comers.
Thanks,
Chris
Dr. Oud
Oud Junkie

Mood: better than before

[*] posted on 1-8-2014 at 07:22 AM

I have some other layouts: Turkish by Hamza Usta (Manol design) George Hanna Nahhat, Gamil George, etc..U2U or email for a complete list and details.
richard@droud.com

theodoropoulos
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 11-13-2014 at 11:23 PM

Quote: Originally posted by Dr. Oud  
I have some other layouts: Turkish by Hamza Usta (Manol design) George Hanna Nahhat, Gamil George, etc..U2U or email for a complete list and details.
richard@droud.com

i have sent you e-mail!If you could help me :)
verhoevc
Oud Lover