Printable Version  
Author: Subject: first oud
organicEffigy
Oud Admirer

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 04:08 PM
first oud

hello,
I've had a desire to play the oud for a long while and have decided it's time to stop thinking about doing it and do it. though i need to buy one, i realize getting a chep one off amazon and othe rsuch retailers probably isnt a very good idea but being 15 i cant really afford the shipping form another country. Does anyody know anything about Lark in the Mornign and whether or not this one http://www.larkinthemorning.com/product.asp_Q_pn_E_OUD009_A_Egyptia... would be a bad idea. Any help would be appreciated. thanks
Elie Riachi
Oud Junkie

Mood: Gebran Tueni Lives For Ever, 12-12-05.

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 04:31 PM

I think you can do better from the nile shop on ebay and pay less (including shipping).

Elie
organicEffigy
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 04:43 PM

thanks ill check it out. Also, being a guitarist i realzie the effect different woods have on an instrument, what wood should i be looking for when buying an oud?
organicEffigy
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 04:45 PM

oh i forgot, what effect does the amount of soundholes have?
Elie Riachi
Oud Junkie

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 04:55 PM

Here is what I think, you can also search the forums on these topics and you'll find a lot of commentary.

Wood: I would go for walnut bowl, spruce top.

Soundhole: One hole tends to be deeper voice. Two additional small ones tends to have a higher voice (note: some may disagree with me on the soundhole, however this conclusion has been repeated by a well known and respected oud maker who rarely posts to these forums)

Regards,
Elie
Elie Riachi
Oud Junkie

[*] posted on 12-15-2004 at 08:25 PM

Here is one on ebay made in Egypt but shipped from the US:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=623&...