Author: Subject: Oud handmade german style
Hibari-San
Oud Maniac

Mood: contented

[*] posted on 6-5-2015 at 04:29 AM
Oud handmade german style

Hey guys !!

I'm new to this forum and want to say hello :wavey:

I built/restored some instruments before, so I have some experience. The oud is my next personal challenge.
I found a very detailed instruction (in german :buttrock: !!) and of course I'm building an oud right now.

It would be very cool if some of you guys could give me feedback on my thoughts.

Basically it will be a classic arabic oud construction with a few elements of european luthiery. My target will be to use as less as possible electric mashines.
The oud will come with 19 walnut ribs, spruce top/braces, tineo blocks, walnut neck & palisander peg box/fingerboard.

Some parts are already finished so I will upload some images soon.

Thanks for your attention
bye
Hibari

abc123xyz
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-5-2015 at 12:50 PM

Quote: Originally posted by Hibari-San  
Hey guys !!

I'm new to this forum and want to say hello :wavey:

Hello! Welcome to the forum.

I found a very detailed instruction (in german :buttrock: !!)

Would that instruction happen to be online? If so, could you provide the link?

The oud will come with 19 walnut ribs, spruce top/braces, tineo blocks, walnut neck & palisander peg box/fingerboard.

Is tineo the plant described at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Weinmannia_trichosperma ?

This is my first time ever hearing of tineo. I'm curious how you came across its wood, and what made you decide to use it, if you don't mind telling :·)

David
Hibari-San
Oud Maniac

[*] posted on 6-5-2015 at 01:34 PM

Hi David,

are you from germany or able to read german ? (I thought about translating this instruction)
Anyway heres the link

http://www.oudinfo.de/Uberblick/Oudbauen_als_Hobby/oudbauen.htm