Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Oud beginner
halflines
Oud Admirer

info.gif posted on 7-12-2015 at 03:47 AM
Oud beginner

Hi everyone,

like many others on here (I don't doubt) I decided to take the plunge and get myself a Turkish oud. Now only thing left, learn how to play it :D

I have to stress, I am a total beginner in music and music theory.

Obviously my first reaction was to try find tutorials online etc. Even though there is plenty to go on Arabic oud, I couldn't find much on Turkish.

Does any one know of any Turkish oud tutorials for beginners?
Or even better any (reasonably pricing) Turkish oud tutors in London, UK?
I could even do a skill swap if any on here and interested, I'm a web designer :)

Any advice will be much appreciated.

DavidJE
Oud Junkie

[*] posted on 7-12-2015 at 07:18 AM

Hello halflines,

I HIGHLY recommend you try Skype lessons with Mavrothi Kontanis. You'll learn 10x faster than on your own, and you'll avoid lots of beginner's mistakes. Here's one of his websites:

http://www.oudcafe.com/

Contact him. You won't regret it.
Lysander
Oud Junkie

[*] posted on 7-12-2015 at 08:09 AM

Hi there,

I too am based in London. I have been playing for nearly two years now but I still consider myself very much a beginner!

The only Turkish oud teacher I know is a guy called Asem. He lives in High Barnet. His number is 07766 454316. I think he charges £25-£30 an hour which is pretty much standard. I didn't use him though because he lives too far out for me, I am in SE London.

The best advice I can offer any beginner is based on the two main mistakes I made at the beginning:

1 - don't play it like a guitar - use upstrokes as well as downstrokes [for a long time I was only using downstrokes]
2 - use fingers 1 2 3 and 4 on 'positions' 1, 2, 3, and 4 on the oud. No matter how weird it feels at first esp with fingers 3 and 4.

Anything else, just ask.

Jody Stecher
Oud Junkie

[*] posted on 7-12-2015 at 04:34 PM