Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Difficulty of changing scale lengths as a beginner
yozhik
Oud Addict

[*] posted on 3-12-2018 at 12:16 PM
Difficulty of changing scale lengths as a beginner

I am a beginning oud student and after a few months of weekly lessons I am finally starting to get comfortable with finding the left-hand finger positions on the oud.

I am learning on a 60 cm scale length Egyptian oud and don't have anything to compare it to, but the scale length seems fine for my hands. I never felt that the finger spacing on this oud was too big or that I needed a smaller scale length.

I am, however, looking to upgrade to a better oud within the next year and many of the ouds I am looking at have a shorter 58.5 cm scale length.

How difficult is it to change scale lengths as a beginner? Will I need to relearn all the finger positions from scratch, or will I just need a few days to adjust to the slightly smaller scale?

Is it better to stick with one scale length as a beginner, or are there actually advantages to switching back and forth between different lengths so that one learns to adjust to different sized ouds faster?
al-Halabi
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-12-2018 at 12:52 PM