Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Double top ouds
rojaros
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 1-24-2019 at 06:23 AM
Double top ouds

I have no experience with double top ouds per sé, but from the classical guitar world I can say this: As much as a classical double top guitar is a classical guitar with a top, and how it sounds will depend more on the thousand other decision the luthier made, I'd guess the same is true for oud as well. It's sonic quality will depend much more on the luthiers' ability to work with a given top to produce a certain desired sonic result, than on the fact that the top of the oud is layered. Though I guess a well made double top oud could benefit from the better mass to stiffness ratio and thus be louder and have a slightly faster attack. But it also easily could become too sharp sounding.

As to durability: double tops of guitars are quite vulnerable, especially when made of cedar, because cedar is soft and if the double top stays within reasonable thickness, the wood layers become very thin and easily punctured under situations getting out of control (as happens especially under concert conditions). A hurt double top (especially when made of cedar) is virtually non-reparable (at least not without well visible cosmetic blemishes), so it entails a top replacement, which may be very costly and probably can only be done in a meaningful way only by the original maker.

Also delamination could become an issue, depending on the quality of the gluing the layers. I don't know if the benefits are outweighing the problems. In the age of excellent and cheap microphones and sound systems I don't see much point in trying to make louder.
Another issue is, if a luthier really wants to change how an oud sounds, like the transition from traditional oud with glued bridge to the floating bridge oud. Probably one could achieve significant differences by changing the top construction.
Baraka
Oud Admirer