Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Which choice would you recommend
AK21
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 9-14-2021 at 12:22 AM
Which choice would you recommend

Hello, I'm a beginner, as in I have only 3 months of experience of oud playing. I'm buying an oud right now and I would love your advice about these choices:

1. https://www.ethnicmusical.com/shop/arabic-oud-double-walnut/

2. https://www.ethnicmusical.com/shop/shami-oud-by-zeryab-cedar-top/

3. https://salamuzik.com/collections/arabic-oud/products/arabic-handmad...

4. https://www.ethnicmusical.com/shop/egyptian-oud-royal-palm/

5. https://www.ethnicmusical.com/shop/shami-oud-walnut-wood/

Do you guys think the Zeryab (link 2) is worth the extra price? Also these are the only worthwhile looking options in my budget that ship to Canada. I would love your help, Thank you!
Brian Prunka
Oud Junkie

Mood: Stringish

[*] posted on 9-14-2021 at 07:20 AM

That particular Zeryab model is okay, some are better than others, but on the whole I don't think it's better than the other options. It may have better resale value since Zeryab is a well-known name at this point. EthnicMusical has a slightly different model, same price, that I've found tends to be better: https://www.ethnicmusical.com/shop/shami-oud-by-zeryab-classic/?wpam...