Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: "Progress Check"
cdroms
Oud Addict

[*] posted on 10-20-2023 at 02:44 AM
"Progress Check"

Hello everyone!

In case anyone has the time and inclination, I wanted to see if I could get some feedback on my playing.

5 or 6 months ago I started learning with a teacher in person, but after one month I stopped taking lessons, and since then I have just been noodling around in a handful of maqams, copying phrases from youtube videos, not always playing every day and not always playing for a long time, but slowly improving and anyway having a lot of fun.

This video is not exactly my most inspired playing, some repetitive phrases with the pitches of Hijaz, but this basically gives a sense of my level. I still have a hard time keeping my pitches correct, but I can hear my mistakes so I think that will just improve with time. And I am definitely struggling with the Arabic-style fast tremolo, but that also I can do much better than a month ago. And I have put almost no effort into getting a sense of typical melodic motion for Hijaz or any other maqam, so I am sure I am 'breaking the rules' left and right. But I wanted to confirm that I am ok on basic things like how I hold my hands, and just see what immediately stands out to people with much more experience than me.

https://youtu.be/jH5fz85GlDI

-------------------------------