Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Looking for an Oud in Bay Area
esteso
Oud Addict

Mood: oudish

[*] posted on 5-15-2005 at 10:42 PM
Looking for an Oud in Bay Area

Hi everyone, new poster here. I've been lurking for a few days and thought I'd jump in. I'm a Flamenco guitarist and have been playing a long time, lately my attention seems to be wandering more and more to the Oud.

I have a student model but I'm looking for an upgrade. I've contacted a couple of our esteemed members privately but thought I'd look around and see what my options were. I can buy an Oud long distance if necessary, but of course there's nothing like playing one and seeing it in person.

There's a lot of us that live in the Bay Area so I thought I'd ask if anyone has a nice oud for sale around here. I've been looking at Haluks and Shehatas so far but am totally open to suggestions.

There are a lot of questions that I can't answer due to lack of experience. Arabic or Turkish? Short or long scale? Don't know. But I do know that I want a well made, quality instrument, ebony pegs and fingerboard, spruce face, small guard, small bowl if possible, not too much ornamentation...... (at least in a perfect world)

Oh, I'm left handed and will be cutting a new nut and switching the strings around.

Maybe the best course of action is just to buy something good and not worry too much about the details. After a few years of playing the Oud some things will become clearer. (of course some things may become more obscure as well!)

Thanks and all the best

Michael Telle
esteso
Oud Addict

[*] posted on 5-16-2005 at 12:32 PM

Hey Gabriel, maybe you needed to play the guitar a little longer than 3 weeks to get a feel for it. :)

I think you may be right about going for a Turkish Oud, especially in light of my conversation with Eliot earlier today. (Turkish style teacher) But there are a few nice Arabics on the market so I'm going to be a little patient and see what develops.

thanks