Mike's Oud Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Munir Bashir's Oud for new learner! please advice.
japan
Oud Maniac

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 5-19-2005 at 07:06 PM
Munir Bashir's Oud for new learner! please advice.

Hi everyone.

I am new to ouds, and just purchased one through "lark in the morning".

The thing I found is that oud is one of the new oud designs developed by the Iraqi soloist Munir Bashir and master oudmaker Mohammed Fadel Awad according to their website.

http://larkinthemorning.com/product.asp?pn=OUD009

I know both master are famous, but does that make it good for me though?!

So, my question is: will that make it diffecult for me to learn how to play oud since it is a new style? or it's not really that different?

I really appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks.
palestine48
Oud Junkie

Mood: Free Palestine

[*] posted on 5-19-2005 at 07:50 PM

Its really not that different from a standard oud. it just sounds different in some aspects.

But not to let you down, I think lark ouds are way overpriced for their quality. You can pay 100 bucks more and get a basic oud from shehata from egypt or samir from syria which are much much better qualities than the one you bought.

lark says they have a 15 day return policy an people on this board can help you contact these makers.

what lark says is the design is based on their design which true but not related to any of these artists.

as long as it plays well, any oud is good. this oud is more specific or arabic music if that is what you want to learn.

if you want to learn turkish or greek music, you might want a turkish oud.

good luck, I dont mean to offend your decision.
japan
Oud Maniac

[*] posted on 5-19-2005 at 07:58 PM

Thank you very much palestine48.

That sure was very helpful.