Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Pyramid Lute strings
lui_oud
Oud Lover

Mood: No Mood.

[*] posted on 6-3-2006 at 07:14 AM
Pyramid Lute strings

Hey,

I was wondering if any one would be able to hook me up with a set of the pyramid lute strings similar to the ones naseer uses. I would like to try the sound on my oud and see if it really makes that much of a diferenc, I currently use labella. I would also like it if I could get a set of aquila strings.

Thanks.

Lui
mjamed
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-9-2006 at 08:21 PM

I am using Pyramid lute strings but not Nasser's tunning.

The tunning I am using is F A D G C F

let me know if you want to know their specs
chenoirh
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 12-22-2006 at 02:23 AM

First as a newbie I must say: Wonderful site!!!
I read a lot already and I'm really appreciating the professional information one can find here.

Second:
I'm from Germany and can't speak English very well... ;)

So here's my question:
I already read about Pyramid lute strings in this forum. For my turkish oud I need a new set of strings, but I'm not satisfied with all the readily packed sets, because they are often for different tunings and not that which I use.

Sometimes I play arabic c-g-d-a-b-c, but a few weeks ago I tuned to turkish d-a-e-b-g(a)-b. I recognized my oud sounds better with this tuning.

By the way I don't know who built my oud; it was a gift from my parents. I guess it is not of professional quality, but that's another question... ;)

So I found a site about oud tunings, where the writer tells about the tuning of Cinuçen Tannkorur. You can read it here.

He uses the following gauges:
#0.55, #0.65, #1008, #1014, #1023, #1441. And he describes these gauges as very fine.
On the other hand I found a thread here in this forum ( http://www.mikeouds.com/messageboard/viewthread.php?tid=2774#pid18058 ), where mavrothis tells about the gauges he uses and these are even more fine.