Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Oud Tuning
Anto
Oud Admirer

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2004 at 11:52 PM
Oud Tuning

Hello everyone, i just started learning the oud and have recently bought a syrian oud. I have been playing plucked stringed instruments for awhile so the transition to oud has been fairly smooth. Anyways, i was just curious about what tunings everyone uses and more importantly, WHY they use their tuning. I have found countless different tunings around and cannot really decide which one i should use. Currently i am using (from low to high) D (single string), E, A, D, G, C. I dont think that this is a conventional tuning, i am just using it because of its similarity to my guitar. I would like to find a good tuning for me and stick to it so that i can be very comfortable with it.
spyros mesogeia
Oud Junkie

Mood: play my ouds

[*] posted on 3-7-2004 at 12:31 AM

Dear friend,
I use this tunning on my Syrian type ouds and on my Turkish type ouds with a tone higher,I use this tunning for more than 4 years,and I like it very much....
What you don't like on this tunning?
Regards
Spyros

Anto
Oud Admirer

[*] posted on 3-7-2004 at 01:34 AM

i do like this tuning actually, i just had not seen anyone list this one as a "conventional tuning" (like on oud cafe for example). I have heard that certain oud's have a much better sound when using certain tunings, i thought id ask what other people use. Or maybe playing is easier with certain tunings, as it is beneficial to make use of as many open strings as possible when playing. Thanks for the reply. I really like this message board by the way, everyone is extremely nice, not to mention knowledgable.
mavrothis
Oud Junkie

Mood: big band envy

[*] posted on 3-7-2004 at 03:24 AM

Hi. The tunings you use should be what you are most comfortable with and what doesn't put too much stress on the instrument.