Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: HI, my 1st post: Q's about Istanbul
Rob
Oud Admirer

Mood: glad to be here

[*] posted on 6-10-2004 at 03:28 AM
HI, my 1st post: Q's about Istanbul

hey, i'm hopefully going to Istanbul in August. I'm totally enthralled by the oud and am wanting to get one, needless to say i am a newbie, I have been playing sitar for the last 4 years but am now wanting to learn the oud. i have been reading some posts and have noticed one posting from Nadirs trip to Istanbul where he noted ...'There is no comparison in Galipede for whose ouds were the best, Mr. Sandi's towered over the market along with Faruk Turunz'...

Q 1) how much would a good oud cost from either one of these stores? ..i would like to know realistically how much as i don't want to get there and find out i can't afford one (well one that i like) even though i will be a beginner i don't want a beginners oud i feel i will progress faster with a nicer sounding and easier to play oud. plus being from NZ it will probably be a while b4 i get a chance to upgrade.

Q 2) i would prefer an oud with a warm tone and good resonance and sustain. what are the best woods to look for to get these sound qualities?

Q 3) does anyone know of a good teacher in Istanbul? and if so do you know what kind of rates are charged for lessons?

I would appreciate any feedback on these Q's as i'm very excited about this ambition.

have a nice day>
nadir
Oud Junkie

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-10-2004 at 03:53 AM

Hi Rob, welcome to the forum. An answer to your first question would be to bring about $1000. That is a safe point. You unforunately will not be able to get Faruk Turunz's but you will definitely be able to have a choice of just about every Sandi oud.

I reccommend actually not getting the Faruk Turunz immediately as well but if you are going to get one, get it out of Galipede. Make a custom order online or something else.