Mike's Oud Forums

My trip to Cairo

Pages:  1    3

Edward Powell - 12-10-2008 at 04:43 AM

Hi Everybody---

I have not been posting for ages, but it looks like I am about to start cuz next week I am off to CAIRO for 3 months of total immersion into ARAB OUD LAND!

I am wondering if anyone has done this before (silly question)? I really need some advice!

-first, the basic things like where to find a decent and cheap hotel in a reasonable location?? this is my first concern...

-second, where to go to see and meet all the great young oud players

-where to buy a ready made oud

-etc etc

ANY COMMENTS OR ADVICE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

I would be happy to document my trip here if there is interest (another silly question!)

thanks

Edward

SamirCanada - 12-10-2008 at 06:10 AM

post all you can edward!
it will be most appreciated.

good luck for your trip

suz_i_dil - 12-10-2008 at 08:51 AM

I studied in arabic oud house, directed by Naseer Shamma, house el Harrawy. This is a touristic place also, so you will find the adress in any touristic guide book, it is in Al Azhar area.
This school is not only around Naseer Shamma playing, for exemple my teacher there largely introduced me to old classical arabic and turkish.
I send you my email, via U2U if you need more info.
Regards

Edward Powell - 12-10-2008 at 09:25 AM

yes, the arab oud house... must be a cool place! I will check it out.

however, at this time I am not so interested in the iraqi style... straight arab oud is what Im after and i am sure there is no shortage there.

where did you stay when in cairo, can you recommend reasonable area clean cheap hotels?

my guess is that the oudmaker shops and music schools will be the best places to meet oudis? ...well, I will soon find out.

SamirCanada - 12-10-2008 at 09:47 AM

http://www.mauriceouds.com/

you should go visit maurice

Christian1095 - 12-10-2008 at 10:34 AM

Have fun on your trip... I'm completely envious.... :mad: